Our Crew

Marine Operations Crew

All marine operations crew are employed through San José State University

Brian Ackerman

Marine Operations Manager
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4134
Cell: (831) 239-2914
Email:  backerman@mlml.calstate.edu

John Douglas

Captain, R/V John Martin, Sheila B. & Small Boats Coordinator
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4122
Cell: (831) 254-7024
Email:  douglas@mlml.calstate.edu
*R/V Sheila B. & Small Boats scheduling contact.

Jackson Winn

Marine Assistant
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4130
Cell: (916) 220-7403
Email: jwinn@mlml.calstate.edu

Jenni Johnson

Student Marine Assistant
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4130
Email: jjohnson@mlml.calstate.edu

Ryan Chiu

Student Marine Assistant
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4130
Email: rchiu@mlml.calstate.edu

Kate Sawyers

Administrative Assistant
Office: Marine Ops
Phone: (831) 771-4130
Email: ksawyers@mlml.calstate.edu

Other Contacts

Jocelyn Douglas

MLML Health and Safety Officer

Office: Main Lab

Phone: (831) 771-4451

Cell: (831) 750-9563

Email: nowicki@mlml.calstate.edu

*Radioisotope and Hazardous Chemical user contact. 

Diana Steller

MLML Dive Safety Officer

Office: Main Lab

Phone: (831) 771-4440

Email: dsteller@mlml.calstate.edu

Website: https://diving.mlml.calstate.edu