About the Committee

About the Committee

The MLML Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee was founded in 2020.

Committee Charge

The committee provides input and recommendations to the director and the department chair and develops initiatives on effective ways to create a campus environment at MLML that is diverse, equitable, and inclusive.

Committee Vision

A group of students, faculty, staff and community members working to advance equitable opportunities in marine science, engage underrepresented groups, serve a diverse society, and ensure an inclusive learning environment at MLML.

Committee Mission

Empower a diverse community of marine science leaders by improving understanding of barriers to the recruitment, retention, and advancement of underrepresented groups, developing initiatives to foster an inclusive environment at MLML, promoting partnerships within the CSU and the Monterey Bay region, and engaging in dialog with the local community.

Committee Membership

  • Co-chairs: Katie Lage, Amanda Kahn
  • Faculty members: Gitte McDonald, Ivano Aiello, Diana Steller
  • Research affiliates: Sarah Stoner-Duncan, Ross Clark
  • Students: Carol Chen, Jason Gonsalves
  • CSUMB representative: Alison Haupt
  • Ex-Officio (MLML Director): Petra Dekens
  • Former committee members

Get Involved

  • MLML DEI Committee meetings are open for attendance by anyone. We (usually) meet monthly during the academic year. Fall 2023 schedule to be determined.
  • You can also contact the co-chairs or the committee as a whole through our email list (mlml-diversity-group@sjsu.edu) to recommend matters for the committee to discuss and act upon.
  • You can submit feedback or questions for the committee through our Feedback/Questions form. (PLEASE NOTE: this form is not intended as a way to report issues of discrimination or harassment! Please see the Graduate Student Handbook on the Graduate Programs intranet or the MLML Code of Conduct (coming soon!) for more information.)
  • Want to join the committee? Each membership group (e.g. students, staff, etc.) selects their own representatives on the committee. Please email the committee co-chairs and your current rep (and the SBOs in the case of the students) to nominate yourself!

Meeting Agendas

Link to Meeting Agendas (forthcoming)

Have a suggestion for an upcoming meeting agenda? Email co-chairs Katie Lage (kathryn.lage@sjsu.edu) and Amanda Kahn (amanda.kahn@sjsu.edu) to let us know!

Former Committee Members

  • Tom Connolly (2020-2023)
  • Roxanne Banker (2022-2023)
  • Matt Hess (2021-2022)
  • Corey Garza (CSUMB) (2020-2022)
  • Jim Harvey (2020-2022)
  • Iliana Ruiz-Cooley (2020)
  • Monica Appiano (2020-2021)
  • Ann Bishop (2020-2021)